Skip to content
July 10, 2012 / E. M. Wynter

Beautiful Girls & Food

So, yesterday I dropped $8.95 on this canning magazine below.

I figured it was essential reading because, of course, I’m going to be a professional canner someday… or live entirely off my own canned goods… or be a one-legged ballerina…

Anywho, its pages contain everything from pickled lemon kumquats to rum rhubarb jam with lavender.

But I’m not making any of those.. Or probably anything in the magazine (even though I also bought Ball’s Deluxe Canning Set for $14.95!). Yet, flipping through those glossy pages, or those of Culture (the cheese-making magazine, if you dare ask), I hear that ridiculous supermodel-obsessed guy from Beautiful Girls say:

“A beautiful girl can make you dizzy, like you’ve been drinking Jack and Coke all morning. She can make you feel high with the single greatest commodity known to man – promise. Promise of a better day. Promise of a greater hope. Promise of a new tomorrow.”

Pretty much sums up how I feel about food.

Why IS that? Well, I don’t know.. I admit, I feel silly sometimes looking through my endless recipe books, clippings and notes – especially when they are ancient and have that yellowed you-did-NOTHING-with-me look. Or when I start spouting off some inane facts to a disinterested relative about salt production from this awesome salt book I read.

And, sure, out of the hundreds of recipes I’ve tried, I probably have about 20 that are true blue winners. But I keep looking for #21. It’s just around the corner… In that new food blog.. in Cook’s Illustrated.. 😉

And I have no idea if I’m really any good (WARNING!) especially since I’ve started taking classes with real professionals and I can really see now how much I don’t know 🙂

But that’s not the point of this blog. Here I get to be a food geek and you can geek out with me and we can be geeks together just like the Bee Girl and all those creepy Adult Bees in that Blind Melon Video.

Go get your costume on 🙂

20120709-212310.jpg

Leave a Reply

